A Day In The Life

This is a post I’ve had planned for a long time, and finally got around to snapping pics for! Today, I want to share a typical day in my life through photos (and the occasional blurb from yours truly). It isn’t quite a photo-an-hour, which I’ve seen floating around the web, but I think this gives a better idea of an average day for me.

8am: Wake Up and Breakfast

8am

9am: Screen Time

10-1230f
Clearly the best position for TV watching.

115d

10am – 12:30pm: Playtime!

10-1230c

10-1230a

10-1230b

10-1230d

10-1230e

12:30pm: Lunch

1230

1:15pm: Quiet Time

115c
She heads into her room for quiet playtime before nap.

115a

115b
I usually spend my time with my kitty and a book, or gaming.

2:00pm: Nap Time

200

200b
I tend to wait to start art projects until she’s asleep, since nap is never a guarantee.

4:00pm: Snuggles, Snack, & Chores

4a
When she first wakes from nap, she always wants snuggles on the couch for a few!

4b

4c

5:00pm/5:30pm: Cooking

5-530
My little’s favorite: Quesadillas.

6:00pm: Dinner

6

7:00pm: Daddy Playtime

630c

630b

630a
Since she’s with me all day, she likes to have time with just Daddy after dinner. It works great for me, as I get an hour of chill time to do what I like!

8:00pm: Bedtime

8aShe always has Daddy do bedtime reading…it’s so adorable!

9:00pm – Midnight: Party Time!

And by party I mean doing art, playing board games, watching shows, or busting out some computer work!

So that’s a typical day of my life as a stay at home mum. I adore getting to spend so much time with my little miss; it is so unbelievably rewarding! Obviously, I couldn’t capture everything we do, but this is a pretty good roundup. The only thing not pictured is the amount of arts and crafts we do together, but of course in the two days I took these pics, my little wanted to do other things. I hope you enjoyed the little glimpse into my life!

What does a typical day in your life look like? If you end up making a post, feel free to share in the comments; I’d love to check it out!

Also, feel free to leave some feedback about the new layout! I needed a change, and switched to this. I’m not 100% in love with it yet, but for now it’ll do! There’ll be a few more small changes to come, mainly in the sidebar and pages (you may notice a few missing at the moment from the top menu bar…still working on ’em!).

17 thoughts on “A Day In The Life

  1. Jessica says:

    I’m on mobile right now so I can’t see the whole layout but I like the new header! And this post is great, it’s nice to see what you get up to on a daily basis 🙂 I really want to do a day in life but I always forget and remember half way through the day haha I’ll keep trying!

    Jessica
    the.pyreflies.org

    • kaycreate says:

      That’s why it’s taken me so long to do one haha! I found it easier to break my day down, and then focus on taking the pics over two days. If you do one, I’d love to see it!

  2. nerdinthebrain says:

    I love this idea! And your family is just so bloomin’ cute! 😀 I might have to do one of these…of course, my days vary so wildly depending on if Grace is here or not, I might have to do two. 😀

    • kaycreate says:

      Thank you! Yeah, this is really just a typical day ‘at home’….since it leaves out any time we have errands or visit someone….but close enough to the most typical day! I would like to do a photo-an-hour sometime just to see what it would end up looking like!

  3. Neri says:

    Oh my goodness, your family is adorable! I am also slightly envious that you can still get your little one to nap. My oldest stopped napping at two years old and that meant every afternoon was just fight o’clock 😦

      • Neri says:

        Agreed. He clearly cannot be my child, because I nap at every chance I can get! I’m hoping that my youngest continues to be the opposite of her brother and keeps being an amazing sleeper 😛

  4. Sara Strauss says:

    Oooooh I love the new blog design!! It’s wonderful!!
    I loved seeing this! It’s interesting to see how people spend their days since everyone’s days are so different!! Your daughter is so cute!
    ~Sara

    • kaycreate says:

      Thanks so much Sara! 🙂 I still want to tweak some things on the blog (plus I’m in the middle of switching to self hosted) but this is a pretty good idea of what it’ll look like!

  5. Celeste says:

    Your daughter is too adorable and it’s nice to get some insight into what you daily life is like: ) The layout is looking great btw. I especially like the colors and header.

Leave a Reply

